now that she’s back in the blogosphere

Although there are no drops of jupiter in my hair, here I am. Today I caught the Skopje frangrance in the breeze, as I often do on windy days, and I felt a little sadness, a lot of nostalgia, and…gratitude. Some may find it curious that I identify so continuously with a city so far away that I no longer live in, but Skopje is always with me. It’s where I learned how to live in the world and love deeply, where language first spoke to me, and where beauty showed itself in many unexpected ways. So here’s to the fierce and fearlessly lovely women of Macedonia who taught me so much about myself, and who live out class and style in a way that I can only hope to adequately celebrate.

Photo by coolio - http://www.trekearth.com

Leave a Reply

