furocious

It’s October and the weather is being somewhat cheeky, going virtually from summer to winter and then back again overnight.  The sudden cold front got me thinking (somewhat logically, I would argue) about keeping warm, and I have a growing admiration for: the fur vest.

It’s true that fur is shrouded in stigma.  People tend to associate it with rich mafia wives, Cruella de Ville, over-the-top celebrities, and PETA attacks.  But fur doesn’t have to be diva OR real (Thumper is way too cute to wear), and although part of me is terrified that some principled activist will mistake me for foe in my faux (ha) and dump red paint on my inauthentic pelt, it’s a risk I think I’m willing to take.

I think the most important thing to keep in mind with an eye-catching piece like fur is to stick to the basics and downplay the other elements of the outfit (a good rule of thumb for sequins, animal print, leather that’s not footwear or handbag, and red lipstick). I love the idea of this vest over a simple striped bateau top, or the classic white tee.

H&M Faux Fur Vest – $110

Gap Trouser Boyfriend Jeans – reg $69.50, now on sale (!) $24.99

J. Crew Drapey bateau tee – $69.50

J. Crew Vintage Cotton Ruffle tee – reg $36.50, now select colors on sale (!) $9.99

Rag & Bone Suede Moto Boots – $550

Twelfth St. by Cynthia Vincent Wesley Oxford Clogs – $295

Leave a Reply

