swearing-in

((H&M top and skirt; Kelly & Katie heels, last seen here; Fossil watch; Zij bag))

From the preparations to the after-party, Thursday was entirely dedicated to my dad’s swearing-in ceremony. Knowing that the occasion would involve lots of photos, handshakes, and applause (all of which I was more than happy to provide), I aimed for a no-fuss ensemble with a seasonal nod. After all, thanks to the overenthusiastic climate control of federal office buildings, it is essentially always winter indoors.

But the day wasn’t about me; it was about my dad, and I could not be more proud of him. That’s something I don’t think parents hear enough from their children — they cheer us on our entire lives, making an inordinately big deal about our first day of school, clapping madly at every game and performance, throwing graduation parties, and bragging about our accomplishments to anyone who will listen. They honestly believe we are the best candidate for any school, job, or award, and champion our interests even when they don’t understand them. And, despite all the daily stress and chaos, I know one father who still finds the time to read his daughter’s fashion blog. I’m so proud of you.

2 thoughts on “swearing-in

  1. So proud of your Father too. What an incredible accomplishment and service to our country. Please pass on my congratulations. You look wonderful too by the way. The shoes are perfection.

Leave a Reply

